Press "Enter" to skip to content

I Am the Avalanche Share New Single From Forthcoming ‘DIVE’ LP

I Am the Avalanche wrapped recording for their new album just under the wire in mid-March, but the band’s first LP in six years, carrying themes of fighting self-doubt and struggling toward redemption, seems oddly pertinent to the COVID lockdown. These ideas have only become more relevant in the time since — much has been made about the state of mental health in the wake of the worldwide pandemic.

Carry this feeling with you always
and if you find yourself face down in the gutter pick your jaded head up and scream to the gods.
I’m gonna make this right if it takes the rest of my fucking life.

Frontman Vinnie Caruana (The Movielife, Constant Elevation) assures us that the themes are much larger than the last few months, pointing toward the last few years as a guide instead.

“This has been coming,” Caruana explains. “Pre-pandemic, things were still shitty. Our country has been turned upside-down by the current administration. So the songs that sound like they were written yesterday… I don’t think that’s going to change.”

Regardless of theme or timing, I Am the Avalanche’s “You’re No Good To Me Dead” is very much in the vein of what has meant so much to fans in the past: melodic, punk-leaning tracks that wear their heart on their sleeve yet also remain aggressive and furious. Raging gang choruses carry the track from XL to epic status, creating simple “ooh ooh oooohhhhs” that will linger long after you’ve smashed that “Replay” button a few times.

Check it out below, for the first time.

“You’re No Good To Me Dead” is culled from the new LP DIVE, I Am the Avalanche’s new ten track LP. Order yours ahead of its 11/20 release date on I Surrender Records.

I Am the Avalanche – DIVE
Track listing:
1. Better Days
2. You’re No Good To Me Dead
3. Dive
4. Fake Weed
5. Love Song 69
6. Are You Listening?
7. Tokyo
8. Concrete
9. Earthquake Weather
10. The Morning